Zoom in on microorganisms

Germs that infect humans


Neisseria gonorrhoeae

Neisseria gonorrhoeae

© Dennis Kunkel Microscopy, Inc.

Microorganism: the bacterium that causes gonorrhea is Neisseria gonorrheae.

Disease: gonorrhea (drawing of a little man having difficulty urinating.) (see Health Canada Information (ask the Museum what are “info Santé Canada”). In medical language, the term blennorrhagia is used.

History: since 1970, following an awareness campaign, the rate of gonorrhea infection dropped sharply in nearly all western countries, including Canada.

Current situation: gonorrhea is the second most important STD of bacterial origin in Canada. In 1998, 5,060 cases of gonorrhea were reported. This disease is now 14 times less important than it was in 1980.

Forecast: while the number of cases of gonorrhea is decreasing, the number of antibiotic-resistant strains is increasing each year. The Canadian objective in the fight against gonorrhea is to eliminate transmission locally by the year 2010.

Mechanism of action of the microorganism: after the microorganisms have entered the body through sexual contact, they attach themselves to the internal wall of the urinary tract or the vagina through hair-like appendages called pili. This attachment prevents the bacteria from being evacuated outside the body by the flow of urine or the normal vaginal discharges. The cells of the immune system then come to attack and eat the bacteria.

Symptoms of the disease: many affected individuals show no symptoms. People who do have symptoms can experience a burning sensation on urinating (this is why the disease is commonly known as “chaude-pisse,” meaning “hot piss” in French), and discharge from the genitals; women can also experience spotting after intercourse. A gonorrhea infection can cause infertility in women. An infected woman can transmit the infection to her child during childbirth. This can cause an infection in the eyelid, i.e., conjunctivitis. Furthermore, the child may become blind. This is why doctors put medication in babies’ eyes when they are born. These are antibiotics such as tetracycline or erythromycin.

Hosts: humans

Incubation period: two to seven days

Contagious period: the contagious period can last several months when the disease is left untreated. Appropriate treatment eliminates contagion in a few hours.

Transmission: this disease is mainly transmitted by contact with the genitals, anus, or mouth of a person who has the disease. During childbirth, a mother who has gonorrhea can transmit it to her child.

Discoverer of the microorganism: Neisser in 1879

Treatment: certain antibiotics such as penicillin or tetracycline. Sexual relations must be avoided during treatment.

Geographical distribution of the microorganism: this disease can be found worldwide. However, in the last twenty years, following awareness campaigns, an important decrease of the disease has been noted in industrialized countries.

Prevention: use of a latex condom

Vaccine: not available

Zoom sur les microbes

Ces microbes qui infectent les humains


Neisseria gonorrhoeae

Neisseria gonorrhoeae

© Dennis Kunkel Microscopy, Inc.

Nom de l’espèce : la bactérie qui cause la gonorrhée est appelée Neisseria gonorrhoeae.

Nom de la maladie : gonorrhée, la chaude-pisse. En langage médical, le terme blennorragie est utilisé.

Historique de la maladie

Passé : depuis 1970, à la suite d'une campagne de sensibilisation, le taux de gonorrhée a chuté brusquement dans presque tous les pays occidentaux, y compris le Canada.

Présent : la gonorrhée est la deuxième ITS d’origine bactérienne en importance au Canada. Le nombre de cas a diminué considérablement entre 1991 et 1997 à la suite d'une campagne de sensibilisation. Mais de 1998 à 2008, le nombre de cas ne cesse d'augmenter ainsi que le nombre de souches résistantes aux antibiotiques.

Mode d’action du microbe : après l’entrée des micro-organismes dans l’organisme par un contact sexuel, les microbes s’attachent à la paroi interne du conduit urinaire ou du vagin par l’intermédiaire d’un poil appelé pili. L’attachement des microbes leur permet d’éviter d’être transportés vers l’extérieur du corps par le courant d’urine ou des décharges vaginales normales. Ensuite, des cellules du système immunitaire viendront attaquer et manger les microbes.

Symptômes de la maladie : une bonne partie des individus atteints ne présentent pas de symptômes. Les personnes ayant des symptômes peuvent ressentir des brûlures en urinant (d'où le nom « chaude-pisse » en langage commun), avoir des écoulements provenant des organes génitaux, et, chez la femme, des pertes vaginales ou des saignements après une relation sexuelle. Une infection à la gonorrhée peut rendre une femme stérile. Les femmes infectées peuvent transmettre la gonorrhée à leur enfant lors de l’accouchement. Cela peut entraîner une infection de la paroi qui protège les yeux, soit une conjonctivite. De plus, l’enfant peut devenir aveugle. C’est pour cette raison que les médecins ajoutent des médicaments dans les yeux de ces enfants à la naissance. Ces médicaments sont des antibiotiques comme la tétracycline ou l’érythromycine.

Réservoir : les humains

Période d’incubation : deux à sept jours

Période de transmissibilité : la période de transmissibilité peut durer des mois lorsque la maladie n’est pas traitée. Une thérapie appropriée élimine la transmissibilité en quelques heures.

Propagation : cette maladie est surtout transmise par contact des organes génitaux, de l’anus et de la bouche avec une personne qui a la maladie. Lors de l’accouchement, une mère qui a la gonorrhée peut transmettre la maladie à son enfant.

Découvreur de l’espèce : Neisser en 1879

Traitement de la maladie : certains antibiotiques comme la ciprofloaxine ou l'ofloaxine

Distribution de l’espèce : cette maladie se retrouve partout dans le monde. Cependant, depuis les vingt dernières années, une diminution importante de cette maladie est notée dans les pays industrialisés à la suite des campagnes de sensibilisation.

Prévention : utilisation d’un condom en latex, limiter le nombre de partenaires et faire des tests de dépistage régulièrement.

Vaccin : non disponible

Autres : il faut éviter les relations sexuelles pendant le traitement.