Zoom in on microorganisms

Germs that infect humans


Rabies virus

Rabies virus

© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Microorganism: a virus of the family Rhabdoviridae.

Disease: rabies

Occurrence of the disease

History: in 1885, Louis Pasteur became famous for using a vaccine he had developed to cure a young shepherd bitten by a rabid dog.

Current situation: rabies kills 35,000 to 40,000 people annually; most cases occur in developing countries. A single case of rabies, caused by a bat bite, was reported in Quebec in 2000. This was the first reported case in years.

Mechanism of action of the microorganism: the rabies virus multiplies in the salivary glands and eventually spreads to the muscles and nervous system. Once it reaches the brain, it produces masses known as Negri bodies. Because the virus grows in the salivary glands, it can be transmitted through bites.

Symptoms of the disease: anxiety, irritability, fatigue, depression, loss of appetite, and fever. More serious effects include muscle hypersensitivity, paralysis, convulsions and delirium. If untreated, the disease results in the destruction of the part of the brain responsible for the control of breathing.

Incubation period: three to eight weeks.

Contagious period: in cats and dogs, usually three to seven days.

Hosts: wild animals such as skunks, raccoons, bats, and foxes are the most common hosts for rabies, although cats and dogs may also act as hosts.

Transmission: rabies is transmitted through contact with the saliva or blood of infected animals, most commonly through bites.

Treatment: bites from rabid animals should be immediately washed with soap and water. Consult a hospital emergency department as soon as possible, to obtain vaccination against rabies. While vaccines are usually preventive rather than curative, the long incubation period of rabies allows this vaccine to actually prevent the development of the disease.

Geographical distribution of the disease: worldwide.

Prevention: vaccination of pets and, in some cases, immunization of wild animals through the use of oral vaccines. For example, a mass immunization program of wild animals around the Canada-United States border has been undertaken, using air-dropped food containing an oral vaccine.

Vaccine: inactivated vaccine.

Zoom sur les microbes

Ces microbes qui infectent les humains


Virus de la rage

Virus de la rage

© Robert Alain, SME, INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Nom de l’espèce : le virus de la rage est un rhabdovirus.

Nom de la maladie : la rage

Historique de la maladie

Passé : en 1885, Pasteur mit au point un vaccin contre la rage. La guérison à l’aide de ce vaccin d’un jeune berger mordu par un chien enragé rendit Pasteur célèbre.

Présent : Trente-cinq à quarante mille décès dus à la rage sont enregistrés chaque année, majoritairement dans les pays en développement. Depuis 2000, trois cas de rage humaine ont été recensés au Canada.

Mode d’action du micro-organisme : Le virus se multiplie dans les glandes salivaires (cellules produisant la salive) et pénètre dans l’organisme par morsure. Il peut également se développer dans les muscles de la personne infectée et éventuellement atteindre son système nerveux. Lorsqu'il se rend jusqu'au cerveau, le virus produit des masses appelées « corps de Negri ».

Symptômes de la maladie : angoisse, irritabilité, fatigue, dépression, perte d’appétit, fièvre. La maladie peut provoquer une hypersensibilité des muscles, des spasmes, une paralysie, des convulsions et le délire. Sans traitement, le microbe finit par détruire la partie du cerveau qui contrôle la respiration.

Période d’incubation : trois à huit semaines

Période de transmission : chez les chats et les chiens, habituellement entre trois et sept jours

Réservoir : le réservoir de la rage se situe généralement chez l'animal sauvage comme la mouffette, le raton laveur, la chauve-souris ou le renard, parfois également chez le chien et le chat.

Propagation : la transmission se fait le plus souvent par la morsure d'un animal infecté. Le sang ou la salive de l’animal infecté peuvent donc transmettre le virus.

Traitement de la maladie : la prophylaxie postexposition (PPE) est fortement suggérée dès qu'il y a eu égratignure ou mordillement avec un animal affecté. Elle comprend le traitement de la plaie dès l'exposition au virus, l'administration d’une série de doses d’un vaccin antirabique puissant et efficace conforme aux recommandations de l’OMS et l'administration d’immunoglobulines antirabiques si nécessaire.

Distribution de l’espèce : partout à travers le monde

Prévention : vaccin. Immunisation des animaux domestiques par injection et dans certains cas des animaux sauvages à l’aide d’un vaccin à prise orale. On effectue par exemple une immunisation massive des animaux sauvages à la frontière canado-américaine en larguant par avion de la nourriture contenant le vaccin oral.

Vaccin : vaccin inactivé